food, farming, friends and family: a meditation on chosen simplicity and (in)voluntary complications – life.

Carrot Apple Fennel Salad with Garam Masala Dressing

A quick post for a quick and delicious salad.  The weather in Bellingham has been frigidly cold and icy, and we hamsters have been forced to navigate the sidewalks like a bunch of geriatric penguins sans tuxedoes.  It’s pretty entertaining actually if you can just keep your extremities thawed.  I came home to the yurt yesterday afternoon to find it at 22 degrees  (blast that clock thermometer – when it’s that cold, I don’t want to know!).  And yes, for the last time, I am from Michigan – and yes, it can get quite cold there.  But 1) I haven’t lived there in 5 years  2) it was 60 degrees in Michigan yesterday and  3) that doesn’t make me a reptile!  I digress …

So salad! That’s what I went to our hoophouse to pick for dinner yesterday, only to find an entire bed of super sad looking frozen greens.  So much for season extension!  I don’t know about you, but I really like to have something green – and usually something raw – with most meals.  Definitely with dinner.  So when it became clear that the lettuce was toast, I took stock of what was happening in our fridge.  There I found a couple of bulbs of fennel we got last weekend at the farmers market from Osprey Hill Farm (my biggest Bellingham farm crush).  Then some Cloudview carrots caught my eye and the rest, as they say, is history.

CARROT APPLE FENNEL SALAD

 

INGREDIENTS:
1 Granny Smith apple, grated
2 medium carrots, grated
tops of 1 fennel bulb, chopped
1 handful of raisins
1/2C plain yogurt
1.5tsp garam masala spice mix
salt
THE HOW TO:
  1. Combine the top four ingredients in a medium bowl and mix together well.
  2. Stir the garam masala into the yogurt and pour over the veggies.
  3. Season with salt to taste.
  4. Enjoy! super easy, super fresh – Experiment with the sauce: I think curry powder or a creamy dressing with mustard or tahini would be good to counter the sweetness of the fruits and veggies.
Leave a Reply

