food, farming, friends and family: a meditation on chosen simplicity and (in)voluntary complications – life.

Simple Sauerkraut Salad

There’s often a depth to simplicity that those who can truly embrace it are lucky to enjoy.  That said, this last Thanksgiving (a beautiful event I’ll devote more time to writing about later), I couldn’t help but feel a little sheepish as my additions to the feast included not one, but two, cabbage dishes.  Sitting alongside the oyster stuffing, the chestnut soup, the delectable casseroles, they looked a little plain jane.  But, I have to say, the fresh flavors of the veggies were a perfect compliment to the rich bready cheesy deliciousness of the other dishes.

This recipe comes from my friend Aldona who is also responsible for helping me turn 10 huge heads of cabbage into 5 gallons of sauerkraut.

 

So, without further ado, my contribution to the most epic dinner of my life:

 

SIMPLE SAUERKRAUT SALAD



INGREDIENTS

1 Quart Sauerkraut

1 Granny Smith apple, grated

2 medium carrots, grated

1 small sweet onion, chopped fine

2+ Tbs Olive Oil

salt and pepper, to taste

 

The HOW TO:
  1. Stir together all of your fruit and veggie ingredients.
  2. Mix in olive oil and top with salt and pepper.
  3. Give thanks and enjoy!
One response

  1. Tes

    I love sauerkrraut and your recipe sounds really simple. I need to try this 🙂

    November 30, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Leave a Reply

